40 companies receive honours at ‘2019 Ghana Business Standard Awards’

Some 40 companies and individuals were honoured at the 2019 Ghana Business Standard awards held at the Movenpick Ambassador Hotel in Accra.

The Chief Executive Officer of the AngloGold Ashanti, Eric Asubonteng was adjudged the Overall Business Leader of the year while CEO of Food and Drugs Authority, Delese Mimi Darko was awarded the Female Business Leader of the Year.

The event organized by KN Unique Communications aims to celebrating outstanding organizations committed to remarkable business standards geared towards sustainable growth by focusing on identifying outstanding organizations with outstanding products, outstanding services and leaders who demonstrate exemplary leadership attributes

Zenith Bank Ghana Limited won Outstanding Brand of the Year in the Banking category, while Sunshine Healthcare Limited won Outstanding Healthcare Provider of the Year while Kingdom Exim Ghana Limited won Outstanding Exporter of the year

The event was graced by the Minister for Planning, Professor George Gyan Baffour as Special Guest of Honour, Western Regional Minister, Hon. Kwabena Okyere Darko and The President of MEST Africa, Ashwin Ravichandran.

Minister for Planning, Professor George Gyan Baffour who was the Special Guest of Honour, noted that over the years, there has been a steady growth in various business sectors of Ghana .This growth is fundamentally due to the resilience of outstanding businesses and individuals

“To sustain this growth, Governments of Ghana is determined to exploit their strategic resources to propel their aggressive industrial transformational agenda with strong emphasis on ensuring that various companies in Ghana meet high standards. This is vital to transform the structure of the economy to a value-added one. It is for this reason that the Government of Ghana is embarking on an aggressive transformation agenda in the various sectors to promote socio-economic development, “he stated.

Professor Gyan Baffour assured companies of Government commitment to transforming various business sectors of this nation and as such cannot be achieved without making the private sector the centre of growth for the economy.

“Government is partnering with the private sector, which is seen as the real engine of growth for development. We are of the belief that creating the regulatory, innovative and competitive environment will motivate indigenous Ghanaian companies and entrepreneurs to add more value to what they are already manufacturing to make their products and services competitive to go beyond the boundaries and excel ” he said.The individual awardees include Eric Asubonteng (MD, Angolgold Ashanti), Overall Business Leader of the Year. Delese Mimi Darko (CEO, Food And Drug Authority) , Female Business Leader Of The Year; Kwabena Okyere Darko (MP) (Western Regional Minister) , Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year – Public Sector ;Mukesh V. Thakwani (CEO, B5 Plus Limited) , Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year-Manufacturing;Dr. Felix Anyah (CEO, Holy Trinity Medical Centre And Spa) , Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year-Health Services; Nathan Kwabena Anokye Adisi (CEO, EIB Network) , Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year- Media; Gopal Vasu (CEO, M&G Pharmaceuticals) , Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year-Pharmaceutical; Sean Alborough (CEO, Helios Tower) , Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year- Telecommunications; Angela Kyerematen Jimoh (Country Manager, IBM Ghana) , Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year-ICT; Aretha Duku (Managing Director, Ghana Union Assurance Company Limited) , Outstanding Insurance Personality Of The Year;Dr. Mark Agyei (CEO, New Life Homeopathic Clinic, Outstanding CEO Of The Year – Alternative Medicine;Dr. Macdonald Chimandas Vasnani (CEO, Consolidated Shipping Agencies Limited) , Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year-Shipping;Kiran Daswani (CEO, The Greens, Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year – Real Estate; Kwame Owusu Boateng (CEO, Opportunity International),Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year-Non-Bank; Mohammed Samara (CEO, MPS Terminal) , Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year – Maritime;Pakwo Shum (Founder, Aviation Alliance) , Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year – Aviation;Sajid Ali Kahn (Gm., Tang Palace) , Outstanding Business Leader Of The Year- Hospitality And Stephanie Ode Wilson (CEO, Scown Properties Limited),Young Business Leader Of The Year.

The company awardees include Japan Motors, Outstanding Automotive Company Of The Year.;Jelcem Limited,Outstanding Construction Support Service Provider ;Kenpong Construction , Outstanding Fiber Optics Service Provider; Accra City Hotel, Outstanding Hospitality Service Provider Of The Year.;Adom City Estate Company Limited, Outstanding Real Estate Developer Of The Year – Low And Middle Income;Baj Freight And Logistics Limited, Outstanding Logistics Service Provider;CPL Developers Limited, Outstanding Real Estate Company Of The Year –Luxury ;DDP Outdoor Limited ,Outstanding Advertising Agency Of The Year; Dulcet Hospitality, Emerging Brand Of The Year, Hospitality;E2E Customer Focus, Outstanding Customer Service Solution Provider;Kiddiecare School, Outstanding Private Educational Facility; Kingdom Exim Ghana Limited, Outstanding Exporter Of The Year; Opportunity International, Outstanding Savings And Loans Company Of The Year; Zenith Bank, Outstanding Brand Of The Year -Banking ;Sunshine Healthcare Limited, Outstanding Healthcare Provider Of The Year.; Tang Palace, Outstanding Customer Service Award, Hospitality; Consolidated Shipping Agencies Limited. Outstanding Shipping Company Of The Year and Frimps Oil , Outstanding Band Of The Year – Petroleum.

The product awardees include Bel Aqua Water, Outstanding Water Of The Year; Bel Malt, Outstanding Malt Of The Year; Adonko Bitters Limited, Best Herbal Alcoholic Bitters Of The Year; Boss Energy Drink, Emerging Energy Drink Of The Year; Unique Natural Mineral Water, Most Promising Water Brand Of The Year and Wire Weaving Industry Ghana Limited (Dadewa Nails), Outstanding Building Material Of The Year.