Standards Authority sets bribery rules with new committee

Some members of the committee

The Ghana Standards Authority in collaboration with the Ministry of Trade and Industry has inaugurated a 22 member committee to oversee the Anti-bribery System Standard in Accra.

The Committee’s mandate is to study the International Standard Organization (ISO) 371001 system to determine if it can be adopted for the country as a standard against bribery and corruption.

When the committee recommends the adoption of the system, the document will be subjected to public consultation as the Ghana standard system against corruption.

Addressing the media after the inauguration of the committee, Director General at the Ghana Standards Authority, Prof. Alex Dodoo said the adoption of anti-bribery standard system by various institutions will enhance their operations.

“One of the key things which the country has targeted is the fight against corruption. In 2016, the International Standards Organization came up with a standard called ISO 370001 which is has to do with anti-bribery management systems to minimize bribery and corruption in organizations”.

“So the Ghana Standards Authority with permission from our sector ministry, decided to form a national committee to look at the International Standard Organizations anti-bribery system and adopt it or just fully accept it for Ghana because we believe that having that will take Ghana very far since organizations will have defined management processes.”

Committee Members

The members of the committee are; Mr Felix Worlako Agordoh, Prof Philip Ebow Bondzi Simpson, Mr Suleiman Ahmed, Mrs Rhoda Appiah, Mr Nathan Kofi Boakye, Mr Fred Charles Anson, Mr Salifu Koray.

Others are; Honouarble Ras Mubarak, Brigadier General Albert K. Adu, Mrs Linda Ofori Kwafo, Mr Kofi Bentil, Mr Ace Ankomah, Mr Emile Short, Prof Stephen Adei, Reverand Emmanuel Martey, Mr Joseph Whittal.

While the remaining members include; Mr Ebenezer Adjirackor, Mr James Avedzi, Mr Mark Badu Aboagye, Col(Rtd) George Danso, Yolanda Zoleka Cuba and Mr Williams Nimako.